Our Nose

Noses run in our family.  I inherited mine from my mother and have, in turn, passed the heirloom on to my kids.  When my mother was young, and such things mattered, she was often asked if she was Jewish.  I have been asked this once or twice myself.  But Mum was a catholic, although she brought us up to be godless, and as far as she knew our family was one hundred percent anglo-saxon.  But then my sister took an interest in genealogy.  She traced our maternal grandfather’s family back to immigrant labourers who settled in Dorset at the start of the 19th century.  The first three generations all had floridly biblical names.

                                                      forget-me-nots
                                                   the blue pigment’s
                                                        genetic code

Contemporary Haibun Online 9,3
October 2013

About Rob

Amateur photographer and haijin.
This entry was posted in haibun and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

